Very Risky - Will not rent again
VERY RISKY to rent from Roy’s Carts. When we arrived to pick up our fully prepaid rental, we gave Roy (the owner) our VISA number so he could place a deposit on hold (we had been quoted $300 US, but it turned out to be $495 US). Four days later my husband and I were enjoying my 58th birthday dinner when a text (not a phone call) came in from Roy. He said we had been seen with 5 people on our cart speeding through the village square. As a penalty, he was immediately charging a $600 (pesos) fine to our VISA and if we were found in violation of our contract again, he would fine us a second time and he would retain our entire deposit. What?!? My husband immediately called Roy to explain person to person that it was not us who had been seen. Roy was immediately angry and yelled (seriously) that my husband was a liar, that we had now lost our entire deposit, AND (I guess as an added penalty because now we’d had the audacity to call him) our cart would be confiscated first thing in the morning (yet another $110 penalty as we had prepaid the entire week’s rental fee)…and then he hung up on my husband. We ended our dinner and went to Roy’s house to straighten this out. When we arrived, the lights were all off – we called him again and the lights came on, but he would not answer the phone or come to the door. Many minutes went by and finally he texted us that we needed to go to a certain restaurant downtown and give our “immediate apology” to his wife. We drove downtown and a very nice woman came right out to greet us. She said she was “so so sorry” we were NOT the people she had seen – she had made a mistake and she readily owned up to it in a gracious manner. OK – chalk it up to a very interesting story about my 58th birthday, but we were still quite shaken because we had just spent the last 90 minutes being treated quite unfairly and were contemplating having to shut our VISA down in the middle of our vacation! Fast forward 2 days: On the last day we were to have the cart back at 11:00 – we arrived at 10:00 just so we had plenty of time to finally have the conversation we deserved with Roy. We were greeted by a different man, however, who took us upstairs into Roy’s house and proceeded to do the closing paperwork – a process he had questions about so he hollered back and forth several times with Roy (who was just out of sight listening from the adjoining room). When Roy had not come into the room to face us by the end of the paperwork, we asked to speak to him and were told he was not available. Ultimately, we were denied any opportunity at a conversation - we were hung up on, refused at the door, and then refused any discussion (or apology) at the end of the rental term. It was a very unnecessary stressor during our vacation and we would never rent from Roy again because of his unprofessional business practices and, most of all, his personal behavior. Never acceptable in the business world – ever.
Experienced: December, 2018
Response from Owner/Manager on 01-02-2019
Thank you for your comments,
It is true that something was confuse, but you also know that it was not my confusion, my wife made the confusion, she apologize to you after all this situation,
Regarding your deposit, your deposit was just hold, you have your deposit back in full now, thank you anyway, i feel fine with the business we had, sorry you are not happy, thank you again!